What I learnt today

I love colour. I have dyed a range of fibres and fabrics for over 30 years and during that time have learnt a lot about colour. Vibrant, mid to dark tones are my favourite and often the combinations I choose. 

Many years ago a very wise old lady encouraged me to move out of my comfort zone from time to time and this has often been such a blessing and eye opener! 

This weekend has seen a move away from the bright and vibrant as I made a point of choosing pastels and specifically a colour I dislike


All those ends really don’t bother me. I enjoy weaving them in. Yes, I know I’m weird but I find it truly relaxing and meditative. 


I’ve moved on to the third round now. So far I’ve learnt a few things

  • It’s hard to match colours in bad light when tones are similar (I actually already knew that, but it’s good to be reminded)
  • Tension is important (yes, I knew that too) – so don’t crochet when you are angry or your stitches will be far too tight and difficult to replicate later
  • Granny squares are still not my favourite but useful for this exercise 

So. Which is the colour I really dislike? 

It’s that mid tone ‘purple’. 

Combined with pinks and blues it’s bearable but boring. On its own ….

I’ll leave you to fill in the dots 😂

One day I’ll tell you the story of why I dislike this technique so much. In the meantime working in ‘difficult’ colours in a technique that is ‘alien’ is good for the soul! (Or something). 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

