Blogging from A-Z April Challenge – F is for..

French Knots

There are many embroidery stitches – but one of my favourites is French Knots. There is nothing better for creating texture.

The secret to a perfect French Knot is twofold. Firstly NEVER wind the thread around the needle – manipulate the needle around the thread whilst holding the loose thread fairly taut. Secondly – keep hold of the loose thread until the very last moment while taking the needle through to the back of the fabric. 

 Posted for the April A-Z challenge. All posts for this challenge will relate in some way to my creativity.

You can also find my chatty A-Z creative posts here

5 Comments Add yours

  1. jhwinterauthor says:

    French knots are a lot of fun! If you get some thicker yarn/thread, you can even use them to make eyes for crocheted amigurumi as well.

    Like

  2. slfinnell says:

    So glad to discover your blog on this years challenge! Following!!

    Like

    1. nuvofelt says:

      A very late response, sorry. I can’t believe that I managed to miss so many lovely comments and visitors. It’s been a stressful year and I’ve just discovered where the comments are. I think it’s fair to say I’m slow on the uptake at the moment. Thanks so much for visiting, and apologies.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. susanbruck says:

    Your french knots are beautiful, and I love to crochet! I found you through a to z. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. nuvofelt says:

      A very late response, apologies, I didn’t realise how to find comments here until just today. Thank you. French knots are one of my favourite stitches – but at the moment it’s mostly crochet for me. Thanks for dropping in.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

