Blogging from A to Z – April Challenge – A is for

Abaca

It has long been my habit of ensuring that I spend at least 15 minutes a day doing something creative. I highly recommend the practice – especially if inspiration seems to have disappeared. The object is to do something.

One of my favourite materials is Abaca Tissue. This plant based tissue has some lovely properties.

Firstly – it takes colour very well, and a variety of results can be created using either water colour or dye.

hotchpotch

Patterns are sometimes a surprise – but whether light or dark they are always useable.

AbacaPaint 1

Once dry they take on a new personality. Cut or torn into strips they can be layered into landscapes and more.

Collage Etsy 2

This versatile material can also be used as a basis for stitch – but more about that another day.

I’ll also be posting for this challenge at ChittleChattle.com – completely different subjects.

Lots more blog posts in this series can be found by following this link – or the one in the sidebar.

26 Comments Add yours

  1. Karen says:

    Thank you for teaching me something new today!! Now I want to try this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nuvofelt says:

      You won’t be disappointed. Thanks so much for dropping in.

      Like

  2. I love this. I need to get some for my art journals.
    Mary at Play off the Page

    Like

    1. nuvofelt says:

      Definitely useful for art journals! Use it with Matte Medium for translucency.

      Like

  3. trishafaye says:

    Nice post! I enjoyed finding your blog through the A to Z Blog Challenge. Good luck with A to Z!
    Trisha Faye
    Vintage Daze

    Like

  4. Corina says:

    It sounds like a very interesting material to work with.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nuvofelt says:

      It is – very versatile. Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  5. Kay says:

    Oooh pretty! I haven’t seen this before, but it’s a great effect, and so versatile!
    Just stopping by as part of the A-Z challenge 🙂 Good luck with the rest of the alphabet!!

    Like

  6. Natalie says:

    This was really interesting, thank you! I’m definitely going to have to try this.

    @LunaNoctis from There She Goes

    Like

    1. nuvofelt says:

      You will find so many uses for it. It’s a little addictive……. Thanks for dropping in.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. jhwinterauthor says:

    I’d never even heard of Abaca Tissue before this post, and it’s a material I must figure out some uses for. Maybe a dress for one of my amigurumi? I’d love for you to come check out my blog, Ink & Stitches: http://blog.jhwinter.com where “A is for Amigurumi” and that’s just the beginning!

    Like

    1. nuvofelt says:

      There are several weights. I’m sure one might work. Thanks for dropping by. Will pop over shortly.

      Like

  8. Neat stuff, I’ll have to see if I can find it in Ecuador. It might get me crafting again. Thanks for teaching me something new today!
    @ScarlettBraden from
    Frankly Scarlett

    Like

  9. HangryFork says:

    I have never heard of Abaca Tissue. Is it different from tissue paper? More like a coffee filter?

    I can’t believe how much I’ve new stuff I have learned about today doing the A to Z Challenge.

    Shelly @ http://hangryfork.com

    Like

  10. Kathryn says:

    Yes it’s a good idea to do something creative every day, and taking 10 -15min per day can then lead into something more!
    Kathryn Discovering Daisies

    Like

  11. Love your discipline of doing something creative each day. I enjoy paper crafts/altered books and this tissue will be a perfect project to then use to cover a page in an a-book. Thanks. If you have time, come and visit hotels and inns with me during April.

    Like

  12. Stefani says:

    I am going to have to look into using that tissue. I love how it grabs the colors! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

